Thank you to the more than 3,200 UH employees for your dedicated service and achievements

BRF thanks the more than 3,200 University Health employees for their dedicated service and achievements during the past five years.

2013-2018 Achievement Highlights

• Increased revenue from commercially insured patients by $100 million annually, which was used to supplement state funding to take care of the state’s Medicaid and uninsured patients. We took steps to protect that revenue stream, which was essential to the hospitals’ survival.

• Improved finances and service without charging a management fee

• Invested more than $58 million in capital improvements in first three years of ownership and operation

• Supported the academic and teaching mission of LSU Health Sciences Center Shreveport with over $334.5 million in payments

• Generated a more than $900 million boost to the State in new federal matching revenue sources, impacting the North Louisiana region through $1 billion in new sales, $400 million in household earnings, an average of 2,818 jobs per year and $18 million in local government treasuries from tax collections, according to a study by Dr. Loren Scott, former LSU Department of Economics Chair (as of FY 2016)

• Saved more than 3,200 jobs

• Restored salary increases through pay-for-performance and merit-based programs

• Implemented tuition-reimbursement programs

• Raised starting minimum wage

• Achieved Joint Commission Gold Seal of Approval for hospital accreditation

• Designated as top performer among Vizient Academic Medical Centers for reduction in other birth trauma and top performer for reduction in Hypoxic Ischemic Encephalopathy

• Achieved Joint Commission advanced certification as a Primary Stroke Center

• Achieved Joint Commission Thrombectomy-Capable Stroke Center certification

• Received the Epic Magna Cum Laude award for continuous improvement in patient outcomes, quality of care, workflow efficiency and financial performance

• Earned numerous designations, such as Baby-Friendly, The Gift Birthing Facility, Blue Distinction Center for Maternity, Silver Award and Gold Center of Excellence for the Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO) program, Louisiana Organ Procurement Agency (LOPA) Gold Seal, and the Silver Award for Stroke Program

• Served an average of 32,400 unique patients per month

• Added new service lines to expand therapies and new treatments for patients in areas such as heart failure, prenatal care, breastfeeding, cancer treatments and other specialties

• Enhanced safety and improved patient experience through expanded and upgraded facilities

• Opened 55 new private rooms

• Grew emergency department by 20.5 percent

• Increased total surgical cases by 30 percent

• Increased clinic and ambulatory visits by 18 percent

Thank you to the following 53 North Louisiana civic and business leaders for your leadership and service as BRF and University Health board members.

BRF Board of Directors:
Arthur Thompson, Chairman • Malcolm S. Murchison, Past Chairman •
Lennis S. Elston, Treasurer • Willie C. White III, Secretary • Arlena Acree •
John F. George Jr., BRF CEO • John B. Hussey • Don E. Jones •
Curtis R. Joseph Jr. • Bernard Kimble • Billy Montgomery • Bonnie Moore • Terry E. Moore • Linda C. Sell • W. Juan Watkins
Former Directors:
R. Keith Bergeron • Kristen Brown • Renae Chandler • Kathy French •
Roy L. Griggs • Johnette M. Magner • Craig Spohn

University Health System Board of Managers:
Stephen F. Skrivanos, Chairman • Don E. Jones, Vice Chairman •
Terry E. Moore, Secretary • Burnadine Moss Anderson •
Winzer R. Andrews Sr. • Larry C. Daniels • Charles J. Fox III •
John F. George Jr., BRF CEO • Amanda Grey • Linda Holyfield •
Claude B. Minor Jr. • Daniel J. Snyder, UH CEO • Lloyd L. Thompson
Former Managers:
Sam Gilliam • Tim Jones • Maxine Sarpy • Frank Williams

University Health Shreveport Governing Board of Directors:
Frank Williams, Chairman • Dean Griffen, Vice Chairman •
Billy Montgomery, Secretary • Charles J. Fox III • Miles Hitchcock •
Barbara Pendleton • Mark Randolph • Wanda Thomas
Former Directors:
Zazell Dudley • John B. Hussey • Armand Roos

University Health Conway Governing Board of Directors:
Lester Wayne Johnson, Chairman • Corine Barral-Sutton, Vice Chairman • Carolyn Myrick, Secretary • Diana Gentry Breen • Richard Cavell •
Thomas G. Eddleman • Alberta Brown Green • William Harrison •
D. Milton Moore III • Claude B. Minor Jr. • Jonathan Phillips

BRF welcomes Ochsner Health System to
North Louisiana!